Showing: 1-10 results of 65099

Often calculus and mechanics are taught as separate subjects. It shouldn't be like that. Learning calculus without mechanics is incredibly boring. Learning mechanics without calculus is missing the point. This textbook integrates both subjects and highlights the profound connections between them. This is the deal. Give me 350 pages of your attention, and I'll teach you everything you need to know about functions, limits, derivatives,... more...

From 1983 to 1986, the legendary physicist and teacher Richard Feynman gave a course at Caltech called “Potentialities and Limitations of Computing Machines.”Although the lectures are over ten years old, most of the material is timeless and presents a “Feynmanesque” overview of many standard and some not-so-standard topics in computer science. These include computability, Turing machines (or as Feynman said, “Mr. Turing’s... more...

"Warning: She spares no detail!" ―Erik Larson, bestselling author of Dead Wake A Top 10 Science Book of Fall 2017, Publishers Weekly "Fascinating and shocking." ―Kirkus Reviews (starred review) The gripping story of how Joseph Lister’s antiseptic method changed medicine forever In The Butchering Art, the historian Lindsey Fitzharris reveals the shocking world of nineteenth-century surgery on the eve of profound... more...

In Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future, veteran technology journalist Ashlee Vance provides the first inside look into the extraordinary life and times of Silicon Valley's most audacious entrepreneur. Written with exclusive access to Musk, his family and friends, the book traces the entrepreneur's journey from a rough upbringing in South Africa to the pinnacle of the global business world. Vance spent more than 30 hours in... more...

Machining for Hobbyists is for do-it-yourselfers and hobbyists who want to set up or expand a small machine shop in their garage, basement, shed or perhaps in a rented space. With their own shop, hobbyists can build models and undertake other building and maintenance projects that involve using different metals. Working in metal requires skills, knowledge, and equipment that are unlike other hobbies. Through easy-to-follow... more...


Professionals today, whether scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs, or managers, need to maximize their effectiveness. Real world problems are complex and must be tackled with adequate conceptual tools. Hard work and motivation are not enough. Professionals need to think strategically in order to choose the right problem to solve, to solve it in a cost-effective way, to use resources efficiently, and to be innovative and productive. Written in a... more...

Poets extol the burst of aroma when the bottle is opened, the wine poured, the flavor on the palate as it combines with the olfactory expression detected and the resulting glow realized. But what is the chemistry behind it? What are the compounds involved and how do they work their wonder? What do we know? Distinct and measurable differences in terroir, coupled with the plasticity of the grape berry genome and the metabolic products, as well as the... more...

The fifth edition of this classic textbook has been extensively revised, but remains faithful to the principles that established it as a favourite among teachers and students around the world. The book is divided into six parts: theoretical concepts and hydrogen, the s-block, the p-block, the d-block, the f-block, and other topics (the nucleus and spectra). An important aspect of the book is its focus on the commercial exploitation of inorganic... more...

Discover the natural beauty, breathtaking scenery, and gorgeous vistas of Utah's national parks--known locally as -The Mighty Five---all from the comfort of your living room. This stunning collection of photographs will inspire you to seek out new vistas every day no matter where your daily journey takes you. Filled with insightful historical information and iconic photographs, this book is the perfect way to bring the outdoors into your home.

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands of coal-burning hearths belched particulate matter into the air. But the smog that descended on December 5th of 1952 was different; it was a type that held the... more...