Showing: 1-10 results of 5998

At last, a mathematical explanation of how art works presented in a manner we can all understand. Kimberly Elam takes the reader on a geometrical journey, lending insight and coherence to the design process by exploring the visual relationships that have foundations in mathematics as well as the essential qualities of life. Geometry of Design-the first book in our new Design Briefs Series-takes a close look at a broad range of twentieth-century... more...


This book offers an introduction to the fundamental principles and systematic methodologies employed in computational approaches to ship design. It takes a detailed approach to the description of the problem definition, related theories, mathematical formulation, algorithm selection, and other core design information. Over eight chapters and appendices the book covers the complete process of ship design, from a detailed description... more...


Bad experiences with construction quality, the energy crises of 1973 and 1979, complaints about "sick buildings", thermal, acoustical, visual and olfactory discomfort, the need for good air quality, the move towards more sustainability - all these have accelerated the development of a field that, for a long time, was hardly more than an academic exercise: building physics (in English speaking countries sometimes referred to as building science). The... more...



From ARCOM and The American Institute of Architects A complete visual guide to choosing and using finish materials In this unique guide, the authors of MASTERSPEC and Architectural Graphic Standards join forces to offer architects vital single-source access to the unbiased information they need to evaluate, select, and specify the best finish materials for any job. This powerful visual resource combines hundreds of illustrations from Architectural... more...

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells... more...

Most architectural books written by practising architects fall into two categories: theoretical texts, or monographs that describe and illustrate the author's projects. This book combines both, as it explores and illustrates the methodological journey required to translate a concept to a drawing and a drawing to a building. While the term 'methodological' might imply an Aristotelian logic, there is no attempt here to rationalise the process of... more...

This is a compilation of the full year's information, including: the "Discussion" section, where well-known architects and critics as well as specialist authors and architectural historians articulate their views; the "Documentation" section containing an analysis of selected projects, in which buildings from around the world are covered in depth; and the "Technology" section where the specific theme of each issue of the magazine is treated in greater... more...